Maybank Malaysian Open 2011 Media Release 


  • Four Major winners: World No. 1 Martin Kaymer, Todd Hamilton, Louis Oosthuizen and Michael Campbell
  • Maybank announces four wildcard entries: Boonchu Ruangkit, Joakim Haeggman, Matthew Nixon and Alexandre Kaleka
  • Event promoter GlobalOne announces Malaysian player for final spot to make up the 22 local playing field - Shaifubari Muda

Kuala Lumpur, 4 April 2011 - The 50th edition of the Malaysian Open will witness the most impressive field of champions that will compete from the 14-17 April at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club. This year's edition has received numerous entries from world renowned golfers and due to the overwhelming response, audiences are in for a treat as they watch the top players from both the European and Asian Tours battle it out for a cool USD2.5 million prize purse.

Entries for the Maybank Malaysian Open closed on the 31st of March 2011 and the tournament has received confirmation from four Major Champions; these are World No. 1 Martin Kaymer, 2004 Open Championship winner Todd Hamilton, 2010 Open Championship winner Louis Oosthuizen and 2005 US Open Championship winner Michael Campbell. Other names that have confirmed their participation this year include Matteo Manassero, John Parry, Andrew Dodt, Soren Kjeldsen, Pablo Martin, Rhys Davies, Thongchai Jaidee, Noh Seung-yul, and Marcus Fraser to name a few.

In addition to these, Maybank also announced the inclusion of four wildcard picks - Joakim Haeggman, Matthew Nixon and Alexandre Kaleka from The European Tour; and Asian Tour's Boonchu Ruangkit - who will join the battle on the greens of the 50th Edition of the Malaysian Open.

Read the full news here



Please fill in the following details and we will be in touch to assist you with your application.
*Your name: 
*Phone number: 
Call me at: 
*Required fields

Thank you for your time.
We have received your information.
Our financial experts will contact you within 2 working days or at the time you've requested.